Home > Processor Ecosystem > SHAKTI: An Open-Source Processor Ecosystem

SHAKTI: An Open-Source Processor Ecosystem


                     Fig. 7. Sample Instruction histogram generated from RiTA for the Dhrystone Benchmarkeq17



Fig. 8. Sample Histograms from RiTA for the Dhrystone Benchmark


7. Current Team and Collaboration

The SHAKTI processor program is being co-ordinated by Prof. V. Kamakoti and Mr. G. S. Madhusudan.

Dr. Neel Gala is the tech lead of the team. As of today the SHAKTI team includes:

—Full-time project staff:

(1) Paul George
(2) Anmol Sahoo
(3) Deepa N. Sarma
(4) Lavanya Jagan
(5) Vishvesh Sundaraman
(6) Gopinathan Muthuswamy
(7) Raja Nainar Mohamed
(8) Madan Kumar
(9) Sathya Narayanan
(10) Ushakumari
(11) Aditya Mathur


(1) Arjun Menon (Masters)
(2) Rahul Bodduna (Masters)
(3) Vinod Ganesan (PhD)

—Remote Collaborators:

(1) Luke Leighton – An advocate for Libre licensed hardware and software.

Each of the members work in different specializations of SHAKTI: core design, peripheral development, operating systems, verification, specialized accelerators, etc. The SHAKTI team is always open for any sort of collaboration and interested users/parties are requested to reach out to either Prof. V. Kamakoti, or         G. S. Madhusudan or Neel Gala for any queries.


8. Conclusion

With a powerful ISA like RISC-V being open-source, the hardware community (like the software com- munity) will start seeing its share of plethora of industrial grade open-source processors and tools in the near future. Enabled by an open HLS language like Bluespec System Verilog, SHAKTI aims to be forerunner in providing not just one, but a family of open-source processors catering to distinct market domains. With history of four years of development and research, SHAKTI today offers upto two stable processors, robust verification environment, trace analysis tools, associated OS ports like Linux, sel4, FreeRTOS and much more. Moving forward, SHAKTI plans to create a critical mass CPU architects in India, create a vigorous concept-to-fab eco-system for processor development and provide a sturdy and practical CPU design engineering curriculum.


9. Acknowledgments

The authors would like to thank current members of the SHAKTI team – Rahul Bodduna, Vinod Ganesan, Vishvesh Sundaraman, Gopinathan Muthuswamy, Lavanya Jagan, Deepa Sarma, Ushakumari, Sathya Narayanan, Madan Kumar, Mohamed Raja – for their continuous effort to make SHAKTI a successful and viable eco-system. We would also like to thank all the interns over the past years at RISE Lab, who have contributed in various ways to the SHAKTI program. We would like extend our gratitude to the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Government of India, who have sponsored significant activities of the SHAKTI program. Our sincere thanks to Niraj Sharma and the Bluespec Inc. for providing continuous support to the SHAKTI verification effort. Credits also extend to HCL Tech and Intel corporation who have provided a pillar like support during the tapeout process of the RISECREEK chip.



2012. IEEE Standard for Standard SystemC Language Reference Manual. IEE Std 1666-2011 (Revision of IEEE Std 1666-2005) (Jan 2012), 1–638. DOI:http://dx.doi.org/10.1109/IEEESTD.2012.6134619

2018. IEEE Standard for SystemVerilog–Unified Hardware Design, Specification, and Verification Language. IEEE Std 1800-2017 (Revision of IEEE Std 1800-2012) (Feb 2018), 1–1315. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.1109/IEEESTD.2018.8299595

Martin Abadi, Paul Barham, Jianmin Chen, Zhifeng Chen, Andy Davis, Jeffrey Dean, Matthieu Devin, Sanjay Ghemawat, Geoffrey Irving, Michael Isard, Manjunath Kudlur, Josh Levenberg, Rajat Monga, Sherry Moore, Derek G. Murray, Benoit Steiner, Paul Tucker, Vijay Vasudevan, Pete Warden, Martin Wicke, Yuan Yu, and Xiaoqiang Zheng. 2016. TensorFlow: A System for Large-scale Machine Learning. In Proceedings of the 12th USENIX Conference on Operating Systems Design and Implementation (OSDI’16). USENIX Association, Berkeley, CA, USA, 265–283. http://dl.acm.org/citation.cfm?id=3026877.3026899

Christiaan Baaij, Matthijs Kooijman, Jan Kuper, Arjan Boeijink, and Marco Gerards. 2010. CλaSH: Structural Descriptions of Synchronous Hardware using Haskell. In Digital System Design: Architectures, Methods and Tools (DSD), 2010 13th Euromicro Conference on. IEEE, 714–721.

Jonathan Bachrach, Huy Vo, Brian Richards, Yunsup Lee, Andrew Waterman, Rimas Avizˇienis, John Wawrzynek, and Krste Asanovic´. 2012. Chisel: constructing hardware in a scala embedded language. In Design Automation Conference (DAC), 2012 49th ACM/EDAC/IEEE. IEEE, 1212–1221.

N. Gala, A. Menon, R. Bodduna, G. S. Madhusudan, and V. Kamakoti. 2016.SHAKTI Processors: An Open-Source Hardware Initiative. In 2016 29th International Conference on VLSI Design and 2016 15th International Conference on Embedded Systems (VLSID). 7–8. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.1109/VLSID.2016.130

S. Gupta, N. Gala, G .S. Madhusudan, and V. Kamakoti. 2015.SHAKTI-F: A Fault Tolerant Microprocessor Architecture. In 2015 IEEE 24th Asian Test Symposium (ATS). 163–168. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.1109/ATS.2015.35

Intel Corporation. 22FFL Technology. In
https://newsroom.intel.com/newsroom/wp- content/uploads/sites/11/2017/03/Mark-Bohr-22FFL-2017.pdf

Yangqing Jia, Evan Shelhamer, Jeff Donahue, Sergey Karayev, Jonathan Long, Ross Girshick, Sergio Guadarrama, and Trevor Darrell. 2014. Caffe: Convolutional Architecture for Fast Feature Embedding. arXiv preprint arXiv:1408.5093 (2014).

Rishiyur Nikhil. 2004. Bluespec System Verilog: efficient, correct RTL from high level specifications. In Formal Methods and Models for Co-Design, 2004. MEMOCODE’04. Proceedings. Second ACM and IEEE International Conference on. IEEE, 69–70.

RISC-V. 2015. RISC-V ISA. https://www.riscv.org (2015).

RISC-V Torture. 2012. RISC-V Torture. https://github.com/ucb-bar/riscv-torture (2012).

Xuejun Yang, Yang Chen, Eric Eide, and John Regehr. 2011. Finding and understanding bugs in C
compilers. In ACM SIGPLAN Notices, Vol. 46. ACM, 283–294.

Pages ( 7 of 7 ): « Previous1 ... 56 7

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *